Movies/Music/Entertainment

Year In Review: KDramas That Made My 2020

Wheww! 2020 was a lot and honestly I’m so grateful that KDramas offered me an escape, they kept me sane 🥺

I devoured a lotttttt of Kdramas this year. I’ve always been a Kdrama lover but I stopped at a point. Then this year, I saw everyone talking about “Crash Landing On You” and I was like, tor, let me watch this thing. That drama dragged me back to the Kdrama world.

Anyways, Kdramas make me so happy. The Feel-Good stories, the fashion, the aesthetics, the pretty characters, the sismance/bromance, the love, omo, the loveeeeeeee.

Here are my top 5 this year:

1. It’s Okay To Not Be Okay

Psycho, But It’s Okay. First of all, I’m a Seo Yea-Ji stan. Not everyone can pull up an antisocial personality disorder character with such perfection.

Seo Yea-Ji played Moon Young, an antisocial Children’s book author

IOTNBO tells the story of a famous children’s book author who is antisocial, a young man who works at a mental health facility and his autistic brother.

The 3 met, their lives entangled and somehow, they healed through each other.

The series explored mental health, the power of human connection, fairytales, love, love, family and how childhood trauma, grief and mental illnesses affect people.

Honestly, my favorite thing asides the Mental Health theme are the fairytales. Sometimes, I go back to the series just to listen to the weird stories Moon Young wrote in her children’s books. They were so weird yet interesting.

2. Crash Landing on You

A romance story between a South-Korean heiress, Se Ri and a North Korean army officer, Jung Hyuk. While paragliding in South Korea, a storm swept Se Ri off and she landed in North Korea 🥺

Apparently, South Koreans can’t cross the border into North Korean without due process. Now, the captain has to find a way to get her back to South Korea while hiding her in his home away from North Koreans who would call for her head if they found out she was in the country without permission.

The love story is so beautiful, the bromance is amazing, the sismance is amazing and I’m so happy they gave us a happy ending.

3. Itaewon Class

I watched this because of Park Seo Joon. Finished “What’s Wrong With Secretary Kim” and I was like I want to see this man in another series. He is so versatile, such a good actor.

Park Seo Joon plays Saeroyi in Itaewon Class

Itaewon class is filled with unpopular characters and that’s my thing: an ex-convict, a transgender, a sociopath? a black Korean.. The series is basically about these character fighting/working together to make the dreams of their street pub come alive. Featured mad villains sha.

Again, The Power of Human Connection>>>>

4. Record of Youth

This series is for dreamers and it stars Park bo Gum. Park Bo Gum🥰, a fineeeee man. Park Bo Gum (Sa Hye-Jun) did it for me. He was an amazing character, the star of the show. I loved how relatable, introspective and expressive his character was.

ROY tells the story of three young people following their dreams while dealing with obstacles along the way. 2, Hye Jun and Hae Hyo are trying to make it in the movie industry while Jeong Ha is trying to be a successful makeup artist. Oh yea, a Love Triangle too.

One of favorite things about the story is how it explored ‘jealousy’. Is it possible to love your friend, care for him and still be jealous of him? Does it make you a terrible person, a bad friend? I think we don’t talk enough about jealousy in friendship and what to do with feelings of jealousy.

5. Descendants of the Sun

This isn’t a 2020 series unlike others, it aired in 2016. I loved in a lot. Shows the struggles of people working in the medical field and military, both at their place of work and with their personal lives.

Yoo Si Jin played a soldier yet managed to be the softest character ever. I loveet!

It tells the love story of a Captain and a Doctor. Well, well, well, izz plenty.

Notable Mention: World of The Married:

This one triggered me a lot but I loved it. A successful doctor just found out her husband has been cheating. This is not just another infidelity story, this one is wildddd. Everytime you think it can’t get worse than this, the drama throws in a crazy twist.

“Every time you call me crazy, I get more crazy, what about that?” 🎶

That’s it! How was your year in movies? Do you watch K-Dramas? Do you have Recommendations for me? I’m always ready to add to my Kdrama Watchlist 💙🥳

One thought on “Year In Review: KDramas That Made My 2020

  1. Zeezah baby, I’m glad I’ve seen the movies also. My Favorites are Itaewon class, Crash landing on you and Descendants of the Sun. You should see Healer too, it’s nice…Keep it up girl!

    Like

Leave a comment